Forum Focus – Physician Leadership Forum announces 2014 Committee on Clinical Leadership

In 2011, the American Hospital Association (AHA) introduced the Physician Leadership Forum (PLF) to more actively engage and partner with those physicians who wish to work collaboratively with hospitals to transform the health care delivery system.

The Committee on Clinical Leadership (CCL), a specialty committee of the AHA Board of Trustees, is responsible for guiding the work of the PLF, providing input to the AHA advocacy and public policy process, and overseeing AHA’s work relating to standards and requirements for medical education programs and activities.

The PLF is pleased to welcome seven new members to serve three-year terms on the CCL. To read more about the new and existing members, click here.

  • John L. Boyd, III, MD, MBA, CPE, chief executive officer and chief medical officer, Children’s Hospital and Clinics, Scott & White Healthcare.
  • John B. Chessare, MD, MPH, president and chief executive officer, Greater Baltimore Medical Center.
  • David Entwistle, chief executive officer, University of Utah Hospitals & Clinics.
  • Cheryl L. Hoying, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN, senior vice president of patient services, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center.
  • Adam L. Myers, MD, FACHE, CHCQM, CPHRM, most recently served as senior vice president and chief medical officer of Methodist Health System.
  • David A. Perlstein, MD, MBA, senior vice president and chief medical officer, St. Barnabas Hospital.
  • Kimberlydawn Wisdom, MD, MS, senior vice president of community health and equity and chief wellness officer and chair of the Gail and Lois Warden Endowment on Multicultural Health, Henry Ford Health System.

Current CCL members include:

  • Kenneth F. Sands, MD, MPH senior vice president of health care quality and director of the Silverman Institute for Health Care Quality and Safety, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. (2014 CCL Chair)
  • Mark C. Adams, MD, FACS, chief medical officer, Franciscan Health System.
  • Richard Afable, MD, MPH, president and chief executive officer, Covenant Health Network and executive vice president, St. Joseph Health.
  • Craig Becker, president and chief executive officer, Tennessee Hospital Association and its subsidiaries, THA Solutions Group, Inc., and the Tennessee Hospital and Education Research Foundation.
  • James F. Burke, MD, senior vice president and chief physician executive, Scottsdale Healthcare.
  • Charles Erlichman, MD, FRCPC, FACP, chair of the Department of Oncology, Mayo Clinic Rochester.
  • Linda Q. Everett, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, executive vice president and chief nurse executive, Indiana University Health.
  • David J. Fine, president and chief executive officer, St. Luke’s Episcopal Health System.
  • Timothy M. Goldfarb, chief executive officer, Shands HealthCare.
  • Donna H. Griffith, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, CENP, FACHE, senior vice president and system chief nursing and patient care officer, Martin Health System.
  • Philip Johnson, MS, RPh, FASHP, pharmacy oncology director, Premier Inc.
  • James T. McDeavitt, MD, chair of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Baylor College of Medicine.
  • Ronald L. Kaufman, MD, FACHE, MBA, chief medical officer for the California/Nebraska region, Tenet Healthcare.
  • Gregory F. McAuliffe, MD, chief medical officer, San Luis Valley Regional Medical Center.
  • Judith A. Melin, MD, MA, chief medical services officer and executive committee member, Lahey Clinic.
  • Kevin Most, DO, vice president of medical affairs, Cadence Health.
  • William W. Pinsky, MD, executive vice president and chief academic officer, Ochsner Health System.
  • Peter F. Rapp, vice president and executive director, Oregon Health and Science University.
  • Michael Rock, MD, chief medical officer, Mayo Clinic Hospitals/Mayo Foundation.
  • Lee B. Sacks, MD, executive vice president and chief medical officer, Advocate Health Care.

Also, it is with much appreciation the PLF bids farewell to four outgoing CCL members whose terms have ended. Each has provided great input and exemplified leadership.

  • Patrick J. Cawley, MD, chief executive officer, Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) Medical Center and vice president for clinical operations, Medical University of South Carolina. (Outgoing CCL Chair)
  • Lois L. Kercher, PhD, RN, has held various nurse executive positions with Sentara Healthcare for the past 20 years, most notably serving as the chief nurse officer for the seven-facility integrated healthcare system since 2004.
  • Glenn A. Fosdick, FACHE, retired as president and chief executive officer, Nebraska Medical Center.
  • Dan Stultz, MD, FACP, FACHE, president and chief executive officer, Texas Hospital Association.

AHA’s Board of Trustees representative is John H. Vassall II, MD, a board-certified internist and chief medical officer for Swedish Medical Center-First Hill. The PLF thanks Jonathan B. Perlin, MD, PhD, president of the Clinical and Physician Services Group and chief medical officer, Hospital Corporation of America, for his participation in PLF activities for 2013.